02-08-2013, 07:48 AM
User Info
I know I'm a newbie here, so I hope this doesn't sound like I'm whining, but I'm just throwing out some thoughts that could maybe be used as an improvement if anybody agrees.

To me, all of the threads asking: "What _____ did you use today?" are kind of tedious and for the most part already covered in the "shave of the day" threads. It bumps more interesting posts from the top of the forum (I especially notice in the "recent posts" on the front page), and it also makes the search less useful. If I do a search on a specific product I get a bunch of posts that just list the product an individual used on a certain day instead of more useful posts.

Would it be worth having a "what ______ did you/will you use today/tomorrow?" subforum that is separate from the subject-specific forums similar to the "shave of the day" forum? This wouldn't solve the search issue, but it would keep those threads from constantly bumping more useful posts.

I know this is a minor thing and maybe others really like those threads considering their popularity, so take my suggestion for what it's worth.

8 115
 02-08-2013, 09:00 AM
  • freddy
  • San Diego, California, U.S.A.
User Info
Norm, I too think it is redundant and that the SOTD covers all of that quite nicely.

2 11,211
 02-08-2013, 09:07 AM
  • Johnny
  • Super Moderator
  • Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
User Info
From the view and post count in all of those "what did you" threads, I would say the majority would disagree. And I must admit, I am one of the majority.

173 23,546
 02-08-2013, 09:12 AM
  • Howler
  • A calamophile and vintage razor lover
  • Fort Smith AR
User Info
I like posting in both places.

1 3,507
 02-08-2013, 09:30 AM
  • mikeperry
  • St Louis via the UK
User Info
(02-08-2013, 09:00 AM)freddy Wrote: Norm, I too think it is redundant and that the SOTD covers all of that quite nicely.

+1 Far too much background noise that adds nothing to the site (IMHO).