02-17-2013, 05:32 PM
User Info
Ok-
Yup, I'm a newbie. My wife has agreed to allow me to get my birthday present a few months early Biggrin

So here we go, this is what I have in my Basket at Italian Barber:

Edwin Jagger DE89
Edwin Jagger Best Badger brush - Med with stand
Proraso Shave Cream Tube (green) - Menthal and Eucalyptus
Proraso Shave Soap Tub (red)- Sandalwood and Shea butter
50 blade DE blade sampler
Shavex 110g allum block
Proraso Pre/Post - Menthal and Eucalyptus

Any other must haves for this beginner/newbie set?
Also, does the Nook have a discount at Italian Barber that I should note in checkout? (worth asking)

0 64
 02-17-2013, 05:42 PM
User Info
I have and use the DE89 and the Proraso. Good stuff.
I do not have any insight on the EJ brush.

If I am spending your (or your wife's) money, I would also add a Semogue 1305 boar brush and any of the RazoRock soaps. Cool

Happy shaving

31 1,800
 02-17-2013, 05:53 PM
User Info
(02-17-2013, 05:42 PM)Bowhnter Wrote: I have and use the DE89 and the Proraso. Good stuff.
I do not have any insight on the EJ brush.

If I am spending your (or your wife's) money, I would also add a Semogue 1305 boar brush and any of the RazoRock soaps. Cool

Happy shaving

Hey Mike- thanks for the reply. I probably do not know enough about Boar brushes. Curious as to why you like the Boar over the Badger, or is it more for different purposes?

Your location made me homesick as I am a TXN by birth, grew up in Allen.

0 64
 02-17-2013, 06:03 PM
User Info
Welcome! You've obviously done your research, and you made some nice choices. I would make the following suggestions/substitutions for an IB order:

Merkur 37C slant
Semogue 1250 or 1800 boar

Have fun!

47 1,270
 02-17-2013, 06:04 PM
User Info
I started with a bad badger brush and now I have boar brushes. I'm cheap and don't want to dump the money into a good badger brush.

Razorock soap is in my top 2 with Mikes Natural Soap. Proraso tub is probably 3rd.

0 46
 02-17-2013, 06:09 PM