02-19-2013, 10:52 PM
  • Shaun
  • St Peters, NSW, Australia
User Info
Chaps

I have no experience with the Gillette New and wonder what people have to say about theirs and any recommendations for a specific model. How would it compare to another Gillette, for example a Fat Boy or a Tech?

I trust the opinions here. When I have gathered the information I will start the hunt for one (in good condition).

I live in Sydney Australia. I never see these items come up for sale here; perhaps it's just my bad timing.

Thanks for your time.

0 1,732
 02-20-2013, 12:58 AM
  • Hanzo
  • Oakland, California
User Info
The Long comb New is a good combo of close shaving with smoothness particularly if you have a coarse beard. The short comb New is more aggressive and shaves about the same as an Old Type , will whip a coarse beard into submission.

They shave more aggressively than most all the safety bar Gillettes I used and at one time loved News because I have a coarse and they did the business whereas with safety bar Gillettes I struggled for closeness.

On ebay good condition News can be found for $25 or so , they are not collected so easy to acquire. The Razorock Cadet 3 piece I think comes close to the Long Comb New but maybe a just tad more aggressive.

15 541
 02-20-2013, 01:25 AM
User Info
I'm confused Huh Blush

Do Gillette still make DE Razors in other parts of the world Huh

I would love to try some of the Gillette DE razors, but I don't use used gear, so not going to happen unless they sell some new DE razors in other places of the world....

24 5,839
 02-20-2013, 02:19 AM
  • Exapno
  • Northampton, England
User Info
Gillette haven't made DE razors for many, many years. The only way you would get one unused is to find NOS (new old stock) unopened razors but they are hard to find. The 'New' is a gillette open comb DE razor (from the 1930s I think).

0 132
 02-20-2013, 03:29 AM
  • Shaun
User Info