03-21-2013, 09:36 AM
User Info
Hi All,

I'm new to the Double Edge Razor world. It's been pretty awesome reading all of your informative, interesting posts on the world of shaving. Smile

(Up to this point I've grown up knowing no better, and using a manual Cartridge-based Razor (i.e., Gillette Mach 2, 3, etc.). I got tired of paying $20 - $30+ for a pack of 5 Cartridges and am ready to make the jump to Safety Razors and real shaving! Smile

* What is a good New Double Edge Safety Razor that you'd recommend for a newbie like me?

As an FYI, I don't bother growing out a full beard (I always shave it down every few days, so that's how much facial hair I deal with on a regular basis). I see the Merkur Model 180 seems to be a popular choice on some websites (and on Amazon).

Reading a bit more on Safety Razors, I think I'd want to start with Close Comb, since it is the "safest" of the Safety Razor styles (correct?), and least chance of me decapitating myself. Biggrin

(If you have a starting Blade to recommend with that Razor, please let me know as well.)

Thanks!

3 270
 03-21-2013, 09:39 AM
  • tgutc
  • Michigan
User Info
With out a doubt you should start with a Edwin Jagger DE89. It's a perfect razor for a new wet shaver. Mild and smooth and a great value.

45 3,955
 03-21-2013, 09:56 AM
  • Theido
  • Shave Stick Proponent
  • Colorado
User Info
I second the Edwin Jagger DE89. I gave both my uncle and my brother Edwin Jagger razors when they started wet shaving.

If you are looking to start a little cheaper I would also recommend a boar brush. In my opinion you can start with a great boar brush for only $20 versus the $50+ for a great badger.

1 111
 03-21-2013, 10:04 AM
User Info
The EJ DE89 is a good recommendation. First thing that came to my mind, too.

Another is the Merkur HD. It's in the same "mildness" group and a nice razor, thought perhaps not as nicely finished as the EJ.