03-24-2013, 07:45 PM
  • Blue line
  • East Central Alabama
User Info
I recently acquired a birth year, 1966, Gillette TECH. It is in great shape. Dropped an unknown brand blade in it, a Super Platinum I believe. Smooth for sure but waaaaaaaaay mild. Man, I quit counting how many passes it took. I ran outta lather in my brush. Using Mikes Orange Stick. I finally rinsed and applied my homemade shave oil and finished up. I cleaned her up and placed her beside her other 4 1966 sisters on the display shelf. I like no nicks when shaving but damn the blade has gotta contact the whisker to cut it! Ball End Tech is a great newbie razor, but I ain't a newbie no more.

2 334
 03-24-2013, 08:43 PM
  • CMur12
  • Semogueiro de Coração
  • Moses Lake, Washington State, USA
User Info
I like a mild razor, and I'm not a newbie either!

Of course, the narrower the blade gap (as in a mild razor), the more exact the shaving angle has to be. This can be a challenge if you have a neck like mine with sharp peaks and gullies. I also make a wetter lather and apply it more thinly to promote the cut of a razor this mild.

- Murray

4 1,150
 03-24-2013, 09:09 PM
User Info
BL, you can make it more aggressive by shimming it. I find a Tech to be unusably mild too as is, but 2 shims installed under the blade makes it a pleasant shave for me. Not desirable, just pleasant. Shimming allowed me to put my travel tech back in the travel case.

To make a shim, take a spent SS blade and using scissors cut a thin ribbon of the cutting edge off of both edges. Removal of 1/32" is more than enough. Just remember the shim(s) are there when changing blades. Throw them away and you need to make more. Since they're Stainless they'll last forever if you hold onto them.

32 6,310
 03-24-2013, 09:42 PM
  • Shaun
  • St Peters, NSW, Australia
User Info
Is it an American tech? Aluminium or brass core?