04-13-2013, 12:15 PM
User Info
Hey y'all. I am new to classic shaving, but have been modern wet shaving (crap in a can and cartridges)all my life. I recently started shaving with a Clog Pruf and fell in love. All of a sudden I'm shaving 6-7 days a week instead of my normal 2-3, and enjoying it. I'm obsessed, nuts is what my wife calls it.

I read the Noob guide and use a self made pre-shave of grapeseed oil, rosemary, and mint, a cheap shave brush from CVS, and am using up canned cream I already have.

I'm looking suggestions as to what products to use, where to purchase, etc. There are so many sites out there that it can get overwhelming. I would also like to acquire a razor and brush stand to appease my wife and possibly hand down to my son. I have a modest income (teacher), and would also like to support members whenever possible.

I'm also wondering where I can get a blade holder that would have come in the original case. I bought my razor at an antique shop: original case, razor, and 6 vintage Auto-strop blades, but no holder. If you have any more info about what I have, I'd appreciate that as well.

Thanks in advance and sorry for rambling.

Matt
[Image: hMbaerL.jpg]

2 52
 04-13-2013, 12:22 PM
  • OldDog23
  • BeanTown MetroWest
User Info
Hello, Matt and welcome ! Smile

0 1,291
 04-13-2013, 12:34 PM
  • tgutc
  • Michigan
User Info
Welcome to the Nook! If you look under "Links" on this site there is a list of vendors who are members here. I prefer to support those vendors. Our administrator Phil owns Bullgoose Shaving and I always order there when possible. He has the best customer service you can find. As far as what products to get there are so many good ones I don't want to point you in just one direction. Spend some time on the site and read up on what's out there. Never hesitate to ask if you have any questions.

45 3,955
 04-13-2013, 12:46 PM
User Info
Welcome to The Shave Nook, Matt!

75 20,883
 04-13-2013, 12:52 PM
User Info