04-06-2012, 08:18 PM
User Info
I have wet shaved with a DE/straight with soap and brush my whole life since I was 15 yo. I am new to the internet shaving arena. When I read posts about others issues with burn, irritation, lathering etc It made me learn one thing....

An appreciation for all the men in my family and how lucky I was to have them.

I was taught to shave by 3 generations of my family. My father taught me and stood by my side when I was 15 during my first shave. My first straight shave was in my great-great uncles barbershop 2 weeks later by his son with his dad overloooking. My grandfather gave me my first straight at 16 and lessons on how to use and maintain it.

My father and I used to share the bathroom every morning and shave together until I went to college. Even on the weekends I came home we did the same. Talking baseball, family goings on and current events. Even in my 20's he would still have a tip or suggestion. Of course the admonishments were there too. Sideburns kept too long, hair on the collar and fashion non-becoming.

My grandfather shaved my face with his straight before my college graduation when I had a broken wrist. I returned the favor many times in years to come when he was no longer able to hold a razor after getting cancer and having a stroke.

From them I learned to lather any soap, shave with any blade, and keep my appearance neat and trim. I have nicked myself on average once a year and irritation is never an issue.

Thanks guys...I truly am glad to have known you.

2 697
 04-06-2012, 08:28 PM
User Info
Excellent heritage there. I hope to be starting something like that in my family when my son comes of age. Thanks for sharing & giving me a great mental picture of what I hope to achieve one day in my own family.

31 7,912
 04-06-2012, 08:43 PM
User Info
Nice story. I wish I had someone to teach me.