04-30-2013, 02:26 AM
  • MikekiM
  • Long Island, NY
User Info
Well, that went without a hitch...Call it a DFS+

I have some experience with the Feather system and a few shavettes, but tonight was the first traditional straight shave..

Not nearly as sharp as I expected, or hoped.

Hot shower (after the gym)
Cold Water Shave
CO Bigelow and Rooney Heritage 2XL, just to make lathering a non-issue
Henry Sears & Sons 7/8

Found myself using the toe more than the rest of the blade, possibly because I am coming from a Feather AC non-folding.. or, who knows.

Two passes... WTG & XTG.
Stalled a few times, maybe because I am getting used to manipulating the scales around. Cold water rinse and finished with Menthol spike Proraso ASB.

No irritation, no runs, no weepers or other nasties.

I've had a few hours (of sleep) post shave but did wake a few times to faceterbate and was pleased. This morning my stubble is worthy of a daily shave so I'll have at it before work. It's pretty even, so I didn't miss any spots. Not irritation or residual burn.

I picked up a restored 7/8's Henry Sears & Sons #20 off of ebay. My strop isn't here yet, so I am going at it with giving the blade and truth told I can only say that it 'feels' sharp and presented as shave ready. Truth told, if the edge can be improved upon once the strop is in, it will be all bonus since the first shave went fine in my book. I have no idea as to the quality of the razor, but it met nearly all of the points on my 'favorite design' list. It makes me smile so I bought it....

As far as angle.. I tried to go by feel and would say 'around 2 spines' is where I ended up most of the time and oddly, it's pretty much the same angle I use for the Feather AC.

Now I need to figure out how to rearrange my storage cabinet to accommodate straights, although the cabinet has a door, it is in the bathroom and that might not be the best place to store my gear.

33 914
 04-30-2013, 03:21 AM
  • Snuff
  • Belgium
User Info