05-16-2013, 12:54 PM
  • Leo K.
  • Mankato MN
User Info
As I enjoy the pleasant effects of my shave this late afternoon, I’m happy how the J1 provides such a mild and pleasant shave with no lack of closeness after two passes and touch up. The aggressive factor is really not much different than my other Schicks. The differences seem minimal now that I’ve lived with my E2, I2 and J1 for awhile now.

Perhaps it’s because I’m still getting my technique down with mixing lather, but the milder J1 (AND the Hydro-magic) helps my face feel better after a shave. I’m getting a fondness for this long handle beauty though. I love the era it was made, 1958-64. There’s almost no way you can get a terrible shave. As long as your lather is good, an every-day-DFS is pretty easy to achieve with a Schick. And I’m still a newbie with more to technique to develop! It can only get better!

Anyone else love your Schick J type Injector?

1 750
 05-16-2013, 06:13 PM
  • OldDog23
  • BeanTown MetroWest
User Info
no J's , Leo, but love my L-1's (60's) and an N-1 I have owned since early 80's. once I headed down Injector Road, I all but parked my DE's...for the same reason you mentioned...my old hide needs a mild shave, and I find that injectors are okay in that regard.
Wish we had more to choose from in blades for them ! I wouldn't mind being able to get some that are sharper. I got to sample some 60's and 70's blades, and thought they were the Bee's Knees ! Smile

0 1,291
 05-18-2013, 07:03 AM
  • taco8slo
  • Shavenookian Newbie
  • California
User Info
I have a J1 as well as an M2, I like them both, the J1 really is a great shave, but the M2 has the edge over the J1 due the adjustable feature, both are smooth carefree shaves indeed and I would be happy with either one as my only injector. Here is the M2 I have from a SOTD picture.

[Image: 2013_05_11.jpg]

15 130
 05-18-2013, 06:58 PM
User Info
I have the j4, with the hydromagic lever and it is outstanding.