05-29-2013, 04:40 PM
  • Fab
  • New York, NY
User Info
Hello,

I'm new to the SE world, and would much appreciate the help of you masters of the SE, with choosing a decent blade.
Currently I have a GEM G bar and a Micromatic. I also have a 1912 on the way Biggrin
I have found some GEM personna blades at a local drugstore, and some store branded blades at CVS and the likes. Are those my only options, or can some other better blades be found elsewhere or on the internet?
What would you recommend to a newbie?
Thanks a lot

10 486
 05-29-2013, 06:39 PM
User Info
You want the GEM Stainless Coated (aka Ted Pella's), best price I know of here.

47 1,270
 05-29-2013, 07:14 PM
User Info
Tom has given great info. Not much for me to add.

31 7,912
 05-29-2013, 08:55 PM
User Info
The blades you bought, are they SS or carbon steel? If stainless it'll say so on the spine. If carbon steel I think the spine has "009" imprinted on it, but it'll be magnetic no matter what's imprinted.

I like Toms info, but some folks like the carbon steel version best despite the added care required to keep the blade from rusting. The blade either gets removed and dried off. When I used them I'd put a few drops of mineral oil top and bottom of the blade, install it, and replenish the oil out of a dropper bottle and call it good. I used one blade for over 4 weeks with no rust just by oiling it exactly as I wrote. I used it every Saturday. Then I got disgusted thinking I had a SS blade installed, but no, it actually was a carbon steel blade. If you have chlorinated water your results may be different.

32 6,308
 05-29-2013, 09:10 PM
User Info
Treet Supers are amazing. They are in yellow and green packaging, possibly at one of your local pharmacies.

3 285
 05-30-2013, 02:27 AM
User Info
In my opinion Pella's really are the only way to go.

1 283
 05-30-2013, 04:14 AM
  • Fab
  • New York, NY
User Info