06-07-2013, 01:08 PM
User Info
Hello, everyone. i hope you are all having a great day!
i thought it would be best to start a new thread on my experiment with Mystic Water Soaps (Lily of the Valley) and some "hard water" i received from my very good friend, David (optometrist), who lives in Surrey, UK. He had been having trouble lathering this soap and i suggested he send me some of his water, jokingly, as he was PIFing me his two tubs that he had ordered since he could not get a good and stable lather with them and to my surprise and intrigue, he sent it along! i love challenges and i was extremely eager to conduct this experiment as i have been using Mystic Water for almost two years, now, which is the time i have been traditionally wet-shaving, and i have never used this soap in an area that has "hard water" and have only used it, here, in Vancouver which has very "soft water". i am using quotations to describe the water as i have heard it depends on certain minerals being present in your water that can greatly affect lather and its stability and formation. i am no scientist and will keep this treatise as simple as i am able to, which should not be too difficult for me!Biggrin

Please, note that i only used the Surrey water to soak the brushes, dip them in for more water while palm-lathering and to wet my palm to begin the lathering. i have shown a picture of how much water was left in the 500ml bottle after i finished the three lathers. It is the last pic.
Also, please, forgive me for the bad quality of the pics as it was very difficult to take them with one hand and not being able to focus very well as i had my Nikkon 50mm manual lens.Blush

i started with my Frank Shaving synthetic 24/48mm.