06-11-2013, 12:51 PM
  • tsimmns
  • Mississippi
User Info
Is it for me? I am relatively new to wet shaving using my Merkur 34C so I'm wondering if using a straight razor might be for me. The logic behind my thinking is fewer passes than a DE razor, which might in the long run be better for my skin.

Can any of you veteran straight users give me sound advice on what a good quality starting straight razor would be? I have watched some videos on straight razors and love the way the full-hollow Dovo ones sound when cutting, but I have no idea if they would be ideal for someone starting out.

I guess what I'm getting at is if you had to start at nothing like I would be, what would you recommend and where would you recommend me to start looking out. Thanks in advance for the help.

15 970
 06-11-2013, 02:31 PM
  • matloffm
  • Culver City, CA
User Info
Start here:

http://straightrazorplace.com/srpwiki/in...Place_Wiki

Read everything.

If you skin is smooth, beard not very coarse, you have more time to spend on each shave then you do now, you like tools and maintaining them, you are patient and open to learning technique, basic honing and proper stropping then you are a candidate for a straight.

Shaving with a straight is not a one pass and done shave. You will need to take short strokes like a DE, you will have to get used to holding the blade, you may find some parts of your face very hard to get at (upper lip, chin and neck) and you will have to deal with an edge which is not as sharp as any disposable blade. It may be more than sharp enough for your beard and therefore will provide an excellent shave, but if you find only the sharpest DE blades work in you Merkur, then your prep will have to improve greatly as the straight edge will have significantly more problems cutting your beard.

Not trying to discourage you, just giving you the facts as I have experienced them straight shaving. Good luck.

16 542
 06-11-2013, 04:26 PM
  • tsimmns
  • Mississippi
User Info