06-25-2013, 02:35 AM
User Info
hi all, first time poster! I am new to the traditional wet shaving game but so far enjoying it a few nicks along the way!! what I was wondering is what would be your favourite scents for a shave cream? I have been using a cheap cream so far with not the most pleasant smell!

I know that scents are of a personal choice and there are hundreds out there but am just looking for some inspiration before I go and get a new one! cheers
(and any suggestions with awesome scents and creamy lather would be welcomed)

0 1
 06-25-2013, 04:17 AM
User Info
Expensive? T&H Trafalgar
Inexpensive? Any Proraso (I prefer the red and blue scents)

97 615
 06-25-2013, 04:35 AM
User Info
Two questions for you: what is the price range for "cheap"? And what is the cream you have been using but not enjoying?

For me the most nostalgic "cheap" cream is Proraso (around $11). Its what I used when I first got into "this thing of ours." And although I'm exclusively a soap user, I still keep a tube of it around.

Another great "cheap" cream is Musgo Real (around $11-$15). When I first started, Proraso and Musgo Real were in everyone's rotation. It has lanolin and a "fresh cut grass" scent (for me, the defining smell of summer). Its a fougere, but in a more earthy "english fern" style than the brighter, lemon verbena-esque notes of Green Irish Tweed and the Martin de Candre fougere (both definitely not cheap products).