06-29-2013, 10:44 AM
User Info
Has anyone used the big salt crystal deodorant?
Does it work?

Thanks,
Phil

7 363
 06-29-2013, 10:56 AM
  • Arcadies
  • Greeneville, TN
User Info
I used the Crystal brand alum deodorant about a year ago, if that is what you're referring to, it burned the hell out of my underarms to the point of blistering and it took a couple of weeks to heal up..needless to say I threw it away.
I have no idea what happened, I've used alum blocks on my face with no ill effects, apparently I'm allergic to the type of alum in the deodorant.

31 1,510
 06-29-2013, 03:56 PM
User Info
If you refer to a potassium alum crystal block, yes. I use it after every shower. I dislike most scent that sticks to me and this does everything it should w/o scent.

32 6,309
 06-29-2013, 05:13 PM
User Info
I have been using a potassium alum stick under the arms for a couple years with good results.

47 1,270
 06-30-2013, 03:48 AM
  • Sully
  • Moderator Emeritus
  • Cedar Park, Texas
User Info
I've been using the Thai Crystal deoderant for years and it works great.

7 1,018
 07-01-2013, 11:38 AM
  • freddy
  • San Diego, California, U.S.A.
User Info
Phil, a couple of months ago Ben was asking about deodorants and I recommended the mineral salt crystal deodorant. I am a big fan. Look here, at Post #12, for my response:

http://shavenook.com/thread-it-s-the-pits

2 11,211
 07-02-2013, 10:03 AM
  • blzrfn
  • Butterscotch Bandit
  • Vancouver USA
User Info
I used to use the crystal deodorant but had problems occasionally because it is hard to tell when enough was applied. I have transitioned to a roll-on deodorant containing alum as I am able to apply it easier. I mix water, alum, aloe juice, tea tree oil and whatever essential oil I feel like and have zero odor issues even on the hottest of days (and it really got put to the test this last weekend). I formulated my recipe based on this article (recipe at bottom of page). http://www.aromantic.co.uk/natural-deodorant.htm