07-07-2013, 10:13 AM
User Info
You coffee drinkers out there, what do you recall as the best cup of coffee you've had? I remember a couple that vie for the title. One was made in an enameled blue metal coffee pot over an evening campfire, served in a tin cup, when I was hiking a portion of the Pacific Crest Trail in California. The coffee grounds were boiled in the pot, then egg shell was tossed in to make the grounds and oil settle. The other one was an early morning cup of Robusta coffee in Palermo, Sicily, when I was a student hitch-hiking around Europe. No doubt my memories are colored by the settings (sweet cold mountain air, aromatic pine smoke, and stars; crisp Mediterranean breeze carrying lemon zest, olive oil, and sea salt), but the coffees also were unforgettable.

(I have no memories of shaving at those times - I had a beard back then.)

183 12,002
 07-07-2013, 11:32 AM
  • Barrylu
  • Portland OR
User Info
(07-07-2013, 10:13 AM)churchilllafemme Wrote: You coffee drinkers out there, what do you recall as the best cup of coffee you've had? I remember a couple that vie for the title. One was made in an enameled blue metal coffee pot over an evening campfire, served in a tin cup, when I was hiking a portion of the Pacific Crest Trail in California. The coffee grounds were boiled in the pot, then egg shell was tossed in to make the grounds and oil settle. The other one was an early morning cup of Robusta coffee in Palermo, Sicily, when I was a student hitch-hiking around Europe. No doubt my memories are colored by the settings (sweet cold mountain air, aromatic pine smoke, and stars; crisp Mediterranean breeze carrying lemon zest, olive oil, and sea salt), but the coffees also were unforgettable.

(I have no memories of shaving at those times - I had a beard back then.)