07-09-2013, 07:16 PM
User Info
I'm new to wet shaving and need some advice on a brush. I have to stock my nook one item at a time, I just picked up a Gem Featherweight for my first razor. Next I want to get a brush that I can face lather with but I also want to be able to use it with a bowl when I acquire one. I need to know what size knot, the loft and what type bristle would be good for a multipurpose brush?

0 37
 07-09-2013, 08:21 PM
  • beartrap
  • Resident Цирюльник
  • Southern California
User Info
A lot of it is personal preference. There are some all around brushes from every manufacturer. What is your budget?

88 4,233
 07-09-2013, 08:39 PM
  • blzrfn
  • Butterscotch Bandit
  • Vancouver USA
User Info
I think a good starting point would be a small Simpson brush, like the Berkeley, or if on a tighter brush go for a good boar like a Semogue 2000 or 830. Face lathering is a bit easier to do with a shorter loft and more comfortable if you avoid scritchy brushes such as pure badger.

127 2,390
 07-09-2013, 09:52 PM
User Info
I would try a boar brush. There is no way we can predict what will work for you, but boars are really nice, and they are exceedingly inexpensive, or can be.

For a face lathering boar I like a loft of 50mm - 45mm in boar (45mm or less in badger). One brush that would work nicely for face or bowl is the Omega 50014 "Turnback" travel brush. It has a handle that can be used short for face lathering or long for a bowl, and the knot is superb. It's a really nice design IMO. It has a loft of 45mm and is on the smaller side for a boar, but it easily makes and holds enough lather for 3 full passes. I think it can be purchased for approx. $12.

Bear in mind that if a brush doesn't work for you, you can sell it on the b/s/t and recoup a large part of your $. Too, it's a place to buy items at reduced prices.

32 6,309
 07-10-2013, 03:43 AM
  • Rufus
  • Greater Toronto Area
User Info