07-14-2013, 07:40 AM
User Info
I am new to the hobby and enjoy the process of a good wet shave. I have been using a DE razor for about two months now and have been bowl latherng exclusively with proraso shave cream. I will probably try face lathering today as I have seen from the forums that many people are strong supporters. My question is what are the advantages and disadvantages of each and what are your preferences?

0 5
 07-14-2013, 08:04 AM
  • u2u
  • GTA
User Info
(07-14-2013, 07:40 AM)Charlie B Wrote: I am new to the hobby and enjoy the process of a good wet shave. I have been using a DE razor for about two months now and have been bowl latherng exclusively with proraso shave cream. I will probably try face lathering today as I have seen from the forums that many people are strong supporters. My question is what are the advantages and disadvantages of each and what are your preferences?
I do both depending on time available, product, and brush choice. If in a rush I face lather with a small or mid size brush. Proraso cream is perfect for that purpose. Always a good shave and it is very easy and consistent in use. The bowl takes more time, equipment, and cleanup. Also, most any brush can face lather, a longer handle is nicer in the bowl.
A good question for which I am sure you will get many responses.

0 534
 07-14-2013, 08:28 AM
User Info
I'm a face latherer exclusively, so I can tell you why I FL. I can't tell you much about bowl lathering.

But first, the very little I know about the bowl. As already stated it requires extra equipment. BUT a bowl can be made out of the off hand if one is traveling and lather can be stored on the brush, same as a face latherer would do. I tried the bowl twice and didn't care for the experience.