07-14-2013, 11:32 AM
User Info
Hi lads,Geordie Sam here,could you please tell me what plays the most important part in getting the ultimate shave,? is it the actual razor itself,? (that is what I think, imho) or do some think it's the blade that's in that razor.?
One of the reasons I'm asking this is because I use a fairly cheap brush (Wilkinson sword classic, about £7 or about $10) I have NEVER used an expensive brush,how big a role does the brush play in the shave,also I have just bought a jar of Tabac shave soap (awaiting delivery) again I have NEVER used real quality soap before,just the tinned gel.
I look forward to any views on this,thanks in advance.
Sam.

0 79
 07-14-2013, 11:42 AM
  • Agravic
  • Emeritus
  • Pennsylvania, USA
User Info
Sam, I believe all items play a contributory role in terms of achieving 'a nice shave' ... but if I had to pick the most crucial variable, I would say blade.

There is incremental improvement in terms of objective shave quality with pricier razors, brushes, soaps, etc. but here, IMHO, the 'law of diminishing yields' applies. I'll be the first to admit though, I'm guilty of spending $$$ in order to improve the perceived quality of my shave experience! Biggrin

102 17,670
 07-14-2013, 11:45 AM
User Info
I think the lather is the most important, but cannot be viewed exclusively. With a crappy lather, no matter how good everything else is, the shave will suffer.

18 568
 07-14-2013, 11:48 AM
User Info
YMMV, but as far as I'm concerned the most important part of getting the ultimate shave is the mindset you go in with. Mind you, I don't consider getting a BBS a necessity for getting an Ultimate Shave - to me the Ultimate Shave is a shave that feels great, make me feel great and put a smile on my face for the rest of the day.