07-15-2013, 10:07 AM
User Info
Hi All

I just registered but i have been lurking on here (plus a coouple other forums) for a few weeks. I presume like most people i got into the DE shaving because i was fed up with the cost of cartridge shaving as well as not ever being truly happy with the results. Ive been using Gillette Fusion for years (and most recently the battery powered pro glide!!!).

Well anyway i read an article about wetshaving online and it got me interested so i started to read a lot more and also watched some videos by Mantic59 and GeoFatBoy.

Well before i knew it i had bought a Merkur 34C HD, Badger Brush, Proraso Red Cream, a nice stand and a blade sampler pack.

So i have been shaving for over 20 years (all with catridge systems) I used to laugh at my dad who always prefered to use an old Double Edge razor (cant remember the brand). Well i could never shave ATG with cartidges because i would always get major irritation and razor burn.

I have a very heavy dark beard. My wife says i get a 5 O'clock shadow sometime around midday! I would say my shaves were always between SAS and CCS. So pretty mediocre and i shaved 6 days a week.

Now onto the good part.

My Merkur arrived July 1st. Woke up early on the 2nd to have plenty of time to take it slow. I loaded a Blue Crystal blade. The Merkur is pretty aggressive and it really got me a close shave. I did 2 passes, WTG and ATG. I admit i probably should have done a XTG instead since my face wasnt used to ATG. Needless to say i got a fair number of weepers which stopped pretty quick with my styptic pencil.

The shave was the closest that i can remember. Between a CCS and DFS. It still felt close when i went to bed that night!

After 3 days i was getting better at it although i was trying out different blades so difficult to say whether it was me getting better or the blades being more suited to my skin.