07-24-2013, 07:09 PM
  • Kavik79
  • Albany, NY - USA
User Info
Just picked up a new razor from theBay, hasn't arrived yet, but I thought I'd get a couple questions out there

Based on the pics, description and age I'm pretty sure they're Ivory, though I don't own any so I'm no expert

Question is, there's a crack near the wedge pin, seller says it's stable.....but is there anything I can do to assure it doesn't loosen up or spread?

And, just for curiosity sake, did I do alright price-wise at $75? I'm not upset at the price, but was surprised I was the only bid lol

early 1790-1810 straight razor clark & osborn stub tail natural handle not bone!
based on some info I found, the description is a little off on the age. From what I hear they were only Clark & Osborn from 1822-1832

[Image: $(KGrHqZHJEUFGKTmHB-eBRppHVcI3w~~60_12.JPG]

10 411
 07-24-2013, 07:32 PM
User Info
I'm not sure it's ivory. It could be bone, but I'm no expert either. You can google search how to tell, if it's ivory. eBay even has a page about ivory. I think there's a hot pin test and a microscope test for Schreger lines. I think there should be concentric circles under a loupe.

I think it's a nice razor. The crack around the pin looks stable enough and isn't at the pivot pin, so that's a plus. A nice Sheffield faux frameback with a big smile. It will be interesting to hone. There may be a small chip the edge approaching the toe. The honer could smooth that out.

I was wrong. There are not concentric circles in ivory. With bone, you'll see little holes that are canals for nutrients to living bone.

Here are a couple of images seen under a magnifying glass of ivory showing the Schreger lines.

[Image: fVtXQLO.jpg]

[Image: mjuhAlq.jpg]

21 1,474
 07-24-2013, 07:56 PM
  • Kavik79
  • Albany, NY - USA
User Info