08-17-2013, 09:02 AM
  • Lradke
  • Edmonton, Alberta
User Info
Hey Everyone!

My barbecue is about to give up the ghost, after a good cleaning it turned into a flame thrower because the burner has a few holes rusted in it and so...well you should get the picture. (But in my defense it was given to me 2 years ago and an old BBQ is better than no BBQ).

I am looking to buy a replacement for it and am thinking of going with a charcoal grill. I'm tired of buying propane and I have read that the charcoal grill is something to master, and being a (self proclaimed) master chef by hobby I am excited about that challenge.

I am looking at a Weber as they seem to have the best reviews. (and I can't believe how cheap they are compared to gas grills) The only thing is, I have never used a charcoal grill before and I don't know of any good sources of information (except amazingribs.com). I am also interested in smoking meats and know of an accessory you can get (The Smokenator) that fits in the Weber.

Anyway, I know some of you do grilling and so I am wondering if you guys have any input or advice? I should note I don't know when it will be bought, I need to get working again first. Wink

Thanks and I look forward to hearing thoughts!

1 608
 08-17-2013, 10:35 AM
User Info
Love my Weber, been using one since I wss a kid.

Get the one with the integrated table!

Have smoked a pork roast a couple of times - delicious!

Make sure to buy whole hardwood chunk charcoal.

47 1,112
 08-17-2013, 10:43 AM
User Info
Can't go wrong with a Weber. Grill or razor.

0 156
 08-17-2013, 11:18 AM
User Info
For a charcoal grill, you can't go wrong with a Weber.

5 938
 08-17-2013, 11:39 AM
User Info
I've owned several Weber charcoal grills of different sizes and they have all been great.

15 762
 08-17-2013, 12:21 PM
User Info
Yep, Webers are good and a great price. Since I got my Primo though I am down to just a small Weber kettle now.