08-30-2013, 02:04 PM
  • vuk
  • Virginia
User Info
So I've been wetshaving for a few years now and I would say that I have been really lucky so far in that I quite rarely get cuts, nicks, weepers or ingrows.
Last week my luck ran out. I was running late and rushed through my shave when something went wrong on the last pass - too much pressure, the angle, maybe both. I really don't know. Whatever happened resulted in two ingrown hairs taking up residence next door to each other on my beautiful chin. They conspired and by the end of the day had join forces to become one super-massive deep bump.
I spent last weekend unshaven with a cherry red chin. To be honest I contemplated giving up the shaving game altogether, growing a Grizzly Adams beard and living in the wilderness with a bear sidekick. Ultimately I decided to tough it out. Mantic has a great video on the subject that is well worth a watch if you haven't already see it. It has great tips like exfoliating the area with a soft brush, making a paste of smooshed up aspirin and water. The aspirin trick did help out, it seemed to help it drain and reduce swelling. Thanks Mantic!
Its been about a week and my ingrown is 95% healed, there is still remnants of a scab that should be gone by the weekend. I've slowed down my shaves and focused on the basics again because an ounce of prevention is... um... worth two in the poke... no... I just know its better to not get them in the first place.

So I'm curious how do you guys deal with ingrowns that crop up? Any tips, tricks to make it less traumatic. Do you use a product, extractor, let them run their course...

2 507
 08-30-2013, 05:01 PM
User Info
They happen to the best of us.

I usually scrub the crap out of razor bumps in the shower with a facial scrub. When I get bumps, they look like zits. They aren't the tiny little pesky ones that everyone seems to get. I scrub until they open up and I apply witch hazel daily until it heals.