09-10-2013, 09:29 AM
User Info
Alright here's the deal, I've been using a DE for a few months now and along the way my face and beard have been getting used to the 3-pass shaving routine. I used to use a Fusion, and electric Norelco Sensotouch 3D in between sometimes, before buying my first DE and always shaved ATG/XTG, never WTG. Now that I switched and following the instructions of going WTG, then XTG, and finally ATG, the blade is spending more time on my face trying to achieve the so called BBS that my fusion used to give me, causing some irritation once in a while. So I thought to myself, If I always shaved XTG/WTG on one or two passes, maybe that's what my face is accustomed to?
So I have experimented with my DE razors and have been shaving on most areas of my face starting either going ATG, or XTG. I seem to be getting better and closer results this way. My face is much less irritated, and seems much smoother. Has anyone tried shaving ATG on the first pass??

To give everyone an idea, I try to stay clean cut as much as possible, shaving every day if not every other day. So I have short stubble but enough to cut. I'm from an Italian background, olive complexion, and always leave off that sorta 5o'clock shadow after a clean shave. I usually prep with a pre-shave oil, and move about with different creams (proraso red/green, cremo, jack black beard lube, palm olive, and just bought zirh shave gel/cream).

So.. has anyone tried this approach before? maybe some tips from some of you veterans out there. Thanks for looking and appreciate your feedback Smile

- Co

9 81
 09-10-2013, 10:27 AM
User Info
I have the same physical characteristics as you; Portuguese, olive-skin, dark and coarse beard.