09-12-2013, 09:30 PM
User Info
I've been using an EJ86 for a few months, it was my very first DE razor. I just couldn't get a good close shave from it; different blades didn't help and I was pretty sure my technique was good.

In fact, it would leave me with lots of razor burn and my face would feel raw unless I shaved after 4-5 days.

I recently acquired a Merkur 34HD and the first shave was an amazing success. A nice, close, BBS shave and no razor burn or irritation.

I was wondering; is it possible for these two razors to behave to differently for the same user? I know blades make a difference, but should there be such a huge difference between razors?

19 631
 09-13-2013, 04:30 AM
User Info
I've never used the EJ/Muhle, so I can't make a personal comparison, but I've always read that the EJ86 or any of the straight bar EJ/Muhle razors are on the mild side of the median. I've had a 34C and its definitely on the more aggressive side of the median.

Looking at B&B's blade gap comparison, the EJ had a larger blade gap than the 34C. It also had a heavier head size. However, the 34C is definitely heavier overall, and I think that makes the difference.

I definitely notice how much the overall weight can affect the closeness of the shave when I compared the 39C (i.e. the barber-pole slant) vs. the 37C (the HD slant). I felt the 37C to be very well balanced, where the 39C was too heavy and caused irritation and cuts.

72 1,407
 09-13-2013, 06:56 AM
  • Grumpy
  • DisneyLand
User Info
It might be the angle.

1 819
 09-13-2013, 08:43 AM
User Info
I have both of these razors and I find they shave very similarly. However, it is possible you just may not get on with the EJ86/89 design.
I know this may be a silly question, but did you have the top and bottom plate of the EJ86 razor head set properly?
I just can't imagine you getting such pronounced results from both razors as they shave very similarly.

75 20,883
 09-13-2013, 10:57 AM
  • hon
User Info