10-09-2013, 03:16 AM
  • tgutc
  • Michigan
User Info
I just ordered a CJB and was just browsing through the blades selection. I have no straight experience and prefer mild to medium DE razors. For those with experience in these blades what would you suggest I start with. Should I go with the guard blades? What is the benefit of them?

45 3,955
 10-09-2013, 03:46 AM
  • ben74
  • Administrator
  • Perth, Australia
User Info
The Guard blade offers a little extra safety. It doesn't feel quite as smooth, on account of the "cage" around the blade, but it does add some confidence when first starting out.

The Kai are definitely less sharp than the Feather and they offer a Guard version too.

I haven't tried the Kai Guard, but with the regular (non guard) blade, I found the Kai Mild provided me with a more comfortable shave compared to the Feather Pro (but it doesn't last as long).

91 17,857
 10-09-2013, 06:02 AM
  • tsimmns
  • Mississippi
User Info
Here's my take on these blades as I have used them for about only two months in a Feather AC SS folding razor and then in the Cobra Classic.

I only tried a Feather Guard blade and the Kai Mild (no guard) blade in the Feather AC SS razor. I used the Feather guard blade the first couple of time and the shave went smooth with no nicks or cuts. They are not that smooth of a blade, but offer you a somewhat sense of safety when using them. However, in my opinion they don't give you as close of a shave. As for the Kai Mild blades, they also gave me a great shave, very smooth, but like Ben said they don't last long.