04-21-2012, 09:02 AM
  • Brent
  • Columbus, OH
User Info
I'm looking to replace my EJ BBB with a Simpsons Best this weekend and looking for a little bit of knowledge. I've landed on either a Persian Jar 2 or a Harvard 3 or 4. I have long fingers, combo bowl/face lather and looking at Best as I plan to use it mostly with soaps and want to keep expense down as it would be a 2nd in command to my beloved Rooney 3/1 Super. Really like these handle styles vs a Colonel, Polo or Commodore longer type handles.

So the crux of the question, which style should I pick? I don't like floppy and want a somewhat dense brush. I've read so many conflicting items on both.

What is your opinion?

0 353
 04-21-2012, 10:06 AM
User Info
I'm no expert on Simpsons best, I've only got the Rover in that hair grade.

I will say that the best hair in this brush only has marginally more backbone than what you'd get in a Rooney Super, and it is not *quite* as soft at the tips. If more backbone is what you really crave, I'd go for something in the 2-band Super hair.

The models you mentioned are not inexpensive, btw, and moving up to 2-band Super will be more expensive still.

What are your primary criteria for the new brush?

Handle length?

Backbone/density?

0 189
 04-21-2012, 10:21 AM
  • Brent
  • Columbus, OH
User Info
Pretty much both. I prefer longer handle lengths vs short, stubby ones. Density/backbone is important. I don't need it more dense than my Rooney, but the EJ BBB that I have is too thin and almost floppy to me.

The Colonel probably should be my easy target, but for some reason I really don't like the aesthetics of the handle. I don't have a SBAD, so this would probably be the last brush I buy in a long time.

I did like the Rover, but seem to be hard to find now.

0 353
 04-21-2012, 10:29 AM
User Info