04-21-2012, 09:39 AM
  • Striky
  • Reipå, Norway
User Info
I ask this question in an other thread, but thought I will make it a new thread.

I have never used a shaving soap before, and have a sample on the way. Until now, I have only used a bowl to lather my shaving cream. My question is: Is there any reason for not using a bowl when to lather a soap? I've seen in many videos people using their palm when lathering a soap, never a bowl.

7 858
 04-21-2012, 09:45 AM
  • freddy
  • San Diego, California, U.S.A.
User Info
None that I can think of. It's personal preference.

2 11,211
 04-21-2012, 09:48 AM
User Info
Well, yes, I think so. The first time I lathered I used a bowl, then I got to thinking... I was lathering in a bowl and wanting to prep my face/beard with water. Why was I doing 2 operations? Why couldn't I combine both into one operation and streamline the process. So I began face lathering. A few months after my first face lather I decided to revisit bowl lathering. That day I missed something all day. It was like I was in withdrawal. Since then I've always face lathered and haven't looked back.

When would I use hand lathering? If I was a bowl latherer and I was traveling I'd hand lather. I also hand lather to test soap w/o using my face, and also to help break a boar brush in quicker. I've also demonstrated lather making to noobs by hand lathering.

I hope that helps.

32 6,309
 04-21-2012, 09:58 AM
User Info
I lather soaps in a scuttle because I like them to be warm. But I see no reason not to have equally good soap lather in a bowl.

184 12,003
 04-21-2012, 10:18 AM
User Info
I face lather almost always, i only make lather in a bowl when i have time and i want to 'play' with the lather. Just for the fun of it.
I never liked to hand lather, and only make when I'm breaking in a new boar.

I think face lathering also helps preparing the face and removing dead cells and debris away before the shave.

4 365
 04-21-2012, 10:47 AM
  • Striky
  • Reipå, Norway