10-20-2013, 02:32 PM
User Info
Which one do you guys prefer? I have a Semogue 1305, but am not getting favorable lathers with it. I'm wondering what your opinions would be as far as buying an Omega? What should I get? I have no direction on where I should go.

2 396
 10-20-2013, 02:42 PM
User Info
So cheap, get both.

9 2,988
 10-20-2013, 02:43 PM
User Info
(10-20-2013, 02:32 PM)MegaBullfrog Wrote: Which one do you guys prefer? I have a Semogue 1305, but am not getting favorable lathers with it. I'm wondering what your opinions would be as far as buying an Omega? What should I get? I have no direction on where I should go.

I have a B&B Essential brush made by Omega and sold by West Coast Shaving that I love. I'm a newbie of a couple of months but can say it's a great one. That said, I was planning on getting the Italian Barber version of the 1305 because of the positive reviews and the fact that I don't want a high dollar brush just yet. Are you sure it's the brush and not the soap or technique? It took me a while to get the hang of it with Proraso green. It was Mantic's videos on YouTube that helped me hone my skills.
IronMike

0 47
 10-20-2013, 02:59 PM
  • Hanzo
  • Oakland, California
User Info
I've only had one Semogue and it was okay but I sold it. I have used Omega brushes for years, mostly boars and I've always been impressed by build , performance and value.

Omega has a large variety of boar brushes. From the large Professional series to smaller home use. High lofts and short endless handle designs and knot sizes. Look at vendor inventory or Omega's website and get an idea about what brush will best suit your needs.

With Omega boars the break in is significant. The more you use the brush the more the tips splay creating a very soft brush that to me excels with soap more than creams. But you have to be patient and let the brush break in , after that you'll really enjoy it.

15 541
 10-20-2013, 03:00 PM
  • tgutc
  • Michigan
User Info