10-28-2013, 02:36 PM
  • Lee-
User Info
I bought a new straight razor. I realize it is a cheap razor, but it is supposed to be shave ready. I am a complete noob to straight razors. I've never been shaved with one before, but have wanted to give it a try for a while.

Anyway I received the razor today and the blade has a bit of a bump near what I believe is called the heel of the razor. I've marked the area of concern with red lines. I understand this very well may be completely normal, but I haven't noticed this in other images of straight razors I've seen before.

The image can be viewed here:
[Image: CwraIfi.jpg]

Thanks.

0 21
 10-28-2013, 02:57 PM
User Info
I am not an expert on straight razors, but as long as that area you have pointed out is smooth so that there is no chance of scraping or cutting you, you shouldn't have much of a problem as long as the edge is sharp and shave-ready.
If it really bothers you, then you can have a honemeister buff it out, possibly. Good luck.

75 20,883
 10-28-2013, 05:58 PM
  • Obie
  • Glendale, Wisconsin
User Info
Lee,
It's hard to determine definitely the fault in the blade from your photo. From what I notice with a naked eye, this is a damaged or defective blade. It's also a Gold Dollar razor, a brand liked by few and avoided by many straight razor shavers. If I may suggest, send it back and buy yourself a better razor. Ralf Aust, Dovo, Thiers-Issard, Revisor, as well as restored vintage razors sold on the various shaving forums offer better choices.

132 2,614
 10-28-2013, 06:49 PM
User Info