04-22-2012, 06:30 AM
User Info
I've asked this question before on boards but never gotten a satisfactory answer.

Should I moisturize my skin?

I don't like to but I've been doing it for 6 years. Why did I start? I noticed a lot of women were doing it after showering.

But I'm worried about the concept of chemicals on my skin. Surely, the skin is smart enough to pump out natural oils, etc. if the skin is dry.

But will adding more moisture lead to fewer wrinkles, better skin?

That's all I'm after.

Please reply in scientific fashion!

0 257
 04-22-2012, 06:40 AM
User Info
The short answer is, maybe. If you have dry skin, then definitely, but some people have naturally oily skin. Moisturizers, like everything else, are YMMV. I don't have all the answers, but I liked an article from Discovery Health, and they cite sources such as the Mayo Clinic. One thing they do note, however, is if you are using moisturizers to get rid of wrinkles/stretch marks, there is no proof that it will work.

http://health.howstuffworks.com/skin-car...arance.htm

1 223
 04-22-2012, 06:43 AM
User Info
+1
Do you have dry skin?
If your worried about wrinkles, there are several things out there. Check out Zihr

9 333
 04-22-2012, 07:12 AM
User Info
I'm 28 and have fantastic skin.

I've been moisturizing since I was 22 for the simple reason that I told it was good.

I find it annoying to apply, above all. What's more, I don't want it to have a deleterious effect on the quality of my skin down the line.

The notion of applying lotion comprising a slew of chemicals on my skin doesn't sit well with me.

But, being a regular guy, I don't know what those ingredients/chemicals are.

When you look at ingredients list on the back of a standard moisturizer bottle, do any of the chemicals cited jump out at you as being unsuited to sit on the skin all day?

Can someone help me put this issue into perspective?!

0 257
 04-22-2012, 07:29 PM
User Info