11-16-2013, 05:33 PM
User Info
So I'm looking to up my game to an adjustable razor but I'm not sure which one to go with. I'm looking to go with the progress or the futur, any ideas on which is better? I'm still pretty new to this and I'm currently using the 34c.

17 325
 11-16-2013, 07:04 PM
User Info
This can be one very addictive habit I have found. I only got into wet shaving a few weeks ago after many years .away from it. I didn't even realize that all safety razors weren't TTOs. I happened to find a low cost Asian three piece in a old drug store and thought I would give it a try. I discovered a book on gourmet shaving and next thing you know I started looking for another razor.

I now have a Slant and I just got my hands on a Merkur Progress. The progressive give me an unbelievable close shave but I may have to dial in back to 1 rather than 1.2. I got a chance to look at the Futur and it looked like a fine razor but I got a better deal on the Progress. I did like the snap on top of the Futur but felt better about the threaded on the the Progress.

0 9
 11-16-2013, 07:59 PM
User Info
It really is subjective, but I would go with the Progress as it is more manoeuvrable and secures the blade more prominently than the Futur. Isn't as large and doesn't feel as overwhelming in the hands. If you have large hands, the Progress Long Handle would work very well. Great shaver, overall!
Good luck.

75 20,883
 11-16-2013, 08:21 PM
  • ben74
  • Administrator
  • Perth, Australia
User Info
I dislike the Progress, for me it's too unbalanced.

I love the Mergress and Mergress XL. These retain the agility of the Progress, but with an improved weight and adjustment. My ultimate recommendation is for either of these.

I also own the Futur and Vision. Of these, I'd recommend the Futur.

May I suggest you have a look at these threads:

VISION

FUTUR

MERGRESS

91 17,868
 11-17-2013, 05:13 AM
  • Deuce
  • Just a guy
  • Cave Creek
User Info