11-21-2013, 05:55 AM
User Info
I am a left handed writer.
With my first fountain pen I was immediately aware there would be a problem. I dubbed it the Smear Factor or SF for short.

SF is not just determined by the ink. Other variables include the pen and nib and the paper.
I mostly wrote on parchment. A fine nib is a must - the less ink the faster it typically dries. I keep a mental SF rating of pen and ink combos.

Due to this site I started trying different papers. Another variable in the smearing equation.

Thanks to Freddy I was able to sample Basildon bond and Clairefontaine Triomphe papers. Both were excellent at reducing the SF.

But I just found out empirically that this is not a fountain pen only issue. I have a micro perfed Rhodia #18 lined paper. I like the paper. It has a low SF. But I purchased it with lines which impact my already poor penmanship. I still use it for letters but I also have it available for general household use.

Yesterday I received an important phone call that required I take notes. I grabbed the Rhodia #18 and a pen out of the magnetic pen cup stuck on the refrigerator.

The pen smeared terribly. It was a Uniball Vision. Grabbed another - a Uniball Eco - it was worse. Next was a Pilot gelpen - still smearing. Finally pulled out a Papermate profile ballpoint and could take legible notes.

I was quite amazed as these pens don't smear on lesser paper. But I was also quite pleased that SF is not the fountain pen only problem I had come to believe it was.

Learn something new each day.

Phil

7 363
 11-21-2013, 06:09 AM
User Info
The SF is precisely why I haven't been intrigued enough to take the leap into FPs. Interesting observation there and I feel your pain. I still think I have a lead stain on my left hypothenar from all my school notes. Winky

31 7,914
 11-21-2013, 08:41 AM
  • Howler
  • A calamophile and vintage razor lover
  • Fort Smith AR
User Info