04-25-2012, 11:20 PM
  • leo
  • Two Rivers WI
User Info
Now I'm still learning how to make a good lather but how much difference does the brush make. I just have a cheap boar brush and I'm having a hard time getting a good lather. I know my inexperience is a part of it but I'm wondering how much difference does the brush make?

0 126
 04-26-2012, 12:25 AM
User Info
The brush or the knot anyhow does make a difference to what lather you'll get.
Keeping it very simple, a taller loft means more spread, means looser hair at the tips, means more aeration, means more lather, more quickly.
Shorter lofts need to work harder and densely packed knots likewise, as do thicker hair knots like the Two bands but good lather will still be created if the soap is right.

Soap choice also is a key factorSmile
regards, beejay

0 39
 04-26-2012, 03:44 AM
  • TexBilly
  • Moderator Emeritus
  • Austin, TX
User Info
beejay is spot on. You can get great lather with either type of knot but technique is a big factor. Taller, airy lofts can produce quickly but too much air may lead to thin lather. Conversely, short or dense lofts can produce lather that is too dense to be practical.

35 2,703
 04-26-2012, 05:11 AM
  • Teiste
  • Moderator Emeritus
  • Salt Lake City,UT
User Info
Also the kind of hair or fibres affects the lather too.Im experiencing this with the new Muhle vegan fibres (both silvertip and black fibre) and how they could make the difference with the Palmolive shaving stick : New Palmolive shaving stick vs old Palmolive shaving stick
For some reason,when I use the silvertip fibres,I got a much slicker,denser lather with less product than when I have used it with both badger or boar hair.

86 7,123
 04-26-2012, 05:27 AM
  • Johnny
  • Super Moderator
  • Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
User Info
How much soap/cream you are loading on the brush and the amount of water you have also play an important part.