01-11-2014, 02:16 AM
  • ben74
  • Administrator
  • Perth, Australia
User Info
I'm konsidering a Kamisori...

Any advice or tips?

I like the idea of a 5/8 Iwasaki Kamisori with handle wrapping.

I imagine it is a bit lighter and shorter than the full size (or 6/8) Kamisori and therefore perhaps easier to handle and more navigable.

I have no experience with Kamisori other than the (dare I say) Feather version, any assistance would be greatly appreciated...

91 17,868
 01-11-2014, 02:58 AM
User Info
(01-11-2014, 02:16 AM)ben74 Wrote: I'm konsidering a Kamisori...

Any advice or tips?

I like the idea of a 5/8 Iwasaki Kamisori with handle wrapping.

I imagine it is a bit lighter and shorter than the full size (or 6/8) Kamisori and therefore perhaps easier to handle and more navigable.

I have no experience with Kamisori other than the (dare I say) Feather version, any assistance would be greatly appreciated...

Ben, speak with Takeshi at Aframestokyo, he's based in Hawaii and will steer you well, his prices are excellent. I've been contemplating a 50mm Iwasaki myself, however haven't pulled the trigger yet. http://yhst-27988581933240.stores.yahoo....razor.html You can also contact Maksim from Japanese Natural Stones, however his prices tend to be higher.

Ofcourse, you know this means you'll also need a Kanayama strop and Nakayama Kiita whetstone, right...? This will inevitably lead to you purchasing several knives before you realise you need a 240mm Shigefusa Kitaeji gyuto and a Hattori KD Biggrin If you ever get into kitchen knives, which I'm sure you will just ask.

Michael

21 459
 01-11-2014, 04:57 AM
  • ben74
  • Administrator
  • Perth, Australia
User Info