01-23-2014, 08:31 PM
User Info
Ok all, I'm coming from a state of almost complete ignorance so please keep things elementary as I am just learning. My wife is expressing an interest in a fountain pen and I've had an "inkling" to try one as well, but my southpaw has kept me at bay.

We are interested in picking up an entry level pen for each of us. She is a righty and is interested in learning calligraphy. I'm a lefty who is a neutral writer which causes my hand to pass over freshly written lines which can easily smear both ink and lead. My hands tend to be a bit sweaty as well when writing which makes the smearing even worse.

I greatly appreciate any assistance you can be in helping us learn the pros & cons of the different types of pens and filling mechanisms. Also, suggestions on where to learn more and purchase from will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

31 8,058
 01-23-2014, 08:48 PM
User Info
Brian, the best starter pens I have tried so far are the Lamy Safari and the Pilot Metropolitan along with the Pilot 78g. These three are very inexpensive and wonderful writers.
There are others, but these are the ones I started with and I am very happy with them.
Best of luck.

I am sure Freddy will come along, very soon and offer some great advice. Biggrin

83 21,098
 01-23-2014, 09:08 PM
User Info
(01-23-2014, 08:48 PM)celestino Wrote: Brian, the best starter pens I have tried so far are the Lamy Safari and the Pilot Metropolitan along with the Pilot 78g. These three are very inexpensive and wonderful writers.
There are others, but these are the ones I started with and I am very happy with them.
Best of luck.

I am sure Freddy will come along, very soon and offer some great advice. Biggrin

I concur with the Lamy Safari & Pilot 78g. I have the Lamy Al-Star, which is the same as the safari but with an aluminum body. I believe you can easily swap out the nibs so you can switch them around.