05-01-2012, 08:47 PM
User Info
So I have been a big cream user for most of my wet shaving life and have recently decided to start trying some soaps. I currently have MWF, Colonel Conk's Lime, Proraso Green, and Tabac. I have been messing around with them for about 2 months now and cannot seem to get very consistent results. I was wondering if anyone had any advice. Most of the time my lather ends up to watery and thin. I have tried using a drier brush but it just doesn't seem to work!

0 33
 05-01-2012, 09:08 PM
  • Johnny
  • Super Moderator
  • Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
User Info
 05-01-2012, 09:34 PM
  • tgutc
  • Michigan
User Info
In that thread he talks about soaking the soap and the brush. Is he saying the puck of soap should actually be submereged in water?

45 3,955
 05-01-2012, 09:45 PM
  • Johnny
  • Super Moderator
  • Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
User Info
(05-01-2012, 09:34 PM)tgutc Wrote: In that thread he talks about soaking the soap and the brush. Is he saying the puck of soap should actually be submerged in water?

Either submerge it or I just fill up my MWF or TABAC dish with water and let the puck soak while I wash my face. It just softens of the soap a little. You do not have to do this on soft soaps like Proraso or Cella.

173 23,553
 05-01-2012, 09:46 PM
User Info
I began by putting a little water on the top of all my soaps, but don't even do that anymore. I just load the heck out of the brush.

JB88, one rule that pretty much works with all soap/lather related issues is to use more product. There are very few problems that that doesn't solve.

Edited for clarity

32 6,311
 05-01-2012, 09:50 PM
  • Johnny
  • Super Moderator
  • Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
User Info
(05-01-2012, 09:46 PM)ShadowsDad Wrote: Well, I can't answer for the writer of that, but I suspect he means a teaspoon of water on top of the puck.