02-15-2014, 06:57 PM
User Info
I just picked up a Gem Micromatic and a Clog Pruf --- what blade would you all recommend --- I love a smooth and efficient blade that can go BBS when I want to take it there --- my favorite DE blade for reference is Israeli Red and Perma Sharp for comparison sake/ reference point.

102 1,398
 02-15-2014, 07:42 PM
  • tgutc
  • Michigan
User Info
I recently inquired about the same thing. I contacted SharpSpine about what SE blades he prefers. He responded and advised me his favorite are the GEM SS coated PTFE). I've included a link below to the blades I believe he was referring to. I have no experience with these or any other SE blades myself though. I'm sure SharpSpine and others will be along to give more information.

http://connaughtshaving.com/gemss.html

45 3,955
 02-15-2014, 08:29 PM
  • CMur12
  • Semogueiro de Coração
  • Moses Lake, Washington State, USA
User Info
I get the best results from the Treet carbon steel blades (also made by ASR). These are very noticeably sharper than the stainless steel GEMs. In fact, the GEMs feel "dull" to me in comparison and I have to apply more pressure to them to make the same cut, resulting in more irritation. For this reason, I won't use the stainless blades. The GEMs, on the other hand, are smoother and last longer.

- Murray

4 1,150
 02-15-2014, 08:35 PM
User Info
I was curious about this as well and I'm glad you asked!
I recently picked up an Ever Ready 1914.

6 229
 02-15-2014, 08:35 PM
User Info
I've only tried the GEM carbon steel blades and the GEM SS ptfe coated. I prefer the SS, and I find that they get better after 3-4 shaves. I love a sharp blade, but they are simply "too sharp" when fresh if that is possible. I like to use a fresh SS blade in a milder SE razor, then after a few shaves they work great in the more aggressive razors.

Murray, I wonder if you got some bad blades?