02-19-2014, 10:11 AM
  • Barrylu
  • Portland OR
User Info
I have limited my brushes fairly much to Simpson brushes. Not only to Simpsons but Simpsons in Manchurian or Super Badger exclusively. I have been very pleased with the brushes and the resulting shaves. Simpson then offered TSN Ph8 in Best and I eagerly bought one. I immediately fell in love with the brush. The brush handled, lathered and softened my beard better than some of my more expensive brushes. I have been using the Ph8 for several months now and look forward to it as it nears the top of my list in my brush rotation. Recently, I had the opportunity to acquire a Simpson 57 in Best Badger. I wanted to see if my Ph8 was a freak or was Best badger really that good.
The bottom line is my two Simpson best badgers shave circles around some of my Manchurian as well as my Silvertips. The 2 Best badgers are every bit as good as my favorite Silvertips and Manchurians. I may replace some of these more expensive brushes with Simpson's Best brushes in the near future.

68 1,068
 02-19-2014, 10:13 AM
  • Elendil
  • Raggedy man, good night
  • The snow's back.
User Info
Yes, Simpson Best is that good. The overwhelming majority of my brushes are Best, and there is not a piker in the lot.

0 1,137
 02-19-2014, 10:16 AM
  • Agravic
  • Super Moderator
  • Pennsylvania, USA
User Info
Agreed.

I only recently discovered the merits of Simpson Best knots, via the P8.

I now have the CH2 Best as well, and hope to get additional examples.

102 18,649
 02-19-2014, 10:23 AM
  • Barrylu
  • Portland OR
User Info
Good I am not crazy.Two people agree. That settles it my next brush is a CH 1 in Best.

68 1,068
 02-19-2014, 10:25 AM
User Info
Well, there's no guarantee that I'm not crazy, but the Simpson hair I have anymore is their Best. Yup, it's that good.

32 6,459
 02-19-2014, 11:15 AM
User Info