02-21-2014, 09:55 AM
User Info
Hi,

My name's Bryan and I am a photographer wanna-be. I've done as much as I can with my iPhone 4s and my cardboard lightbox Smile. With a budget of $300, I would love suggestions with purchasing my first real camera - one where I can adjust aperture, shutter speed, and the like.

Currently, I use my iPhone 4s and my mother's Nikon which allows you to change light exposure, but nothing else (aperture, depth of field, etc --- the good stuff). I have limited to zero knowledge on the subject.

Help me find a solid starter camera - one that will allow me to take great photos / better than what I currently take, and for under $300. I'll worry about fancy lenses, etc. later.

Here are some examples of my exemplary (LOL) work:

[Image: attachment.php?attachmentid=406722&d=1390691189]

[Image: attachment.php?attachmentid=415984&d=1393003234]

[Image: attachment.php?attachmentid=399100&d=1388712213]

[Image: attachment.php?attachmentid=391916&d=1386554088]

12 715
 02-21-2014, 10:24 AM
User Info
If you're serious about taking photos - as opposed to snaps - look for a DSLR with one of the standard lens mounts. That way you can get a kit with a good camera and a decent lens, and then upgrade / add more lenses later.

Personally I like Nikon and their F-mount - I can use the same lenses on my D7000 and my old FE Biggrin

3 4,373
 02-21-2014, 10:38 AM
User Info
Can you recommend a few specific models to look at? Speak to me as if I don't know English and know as much about cameras as a professional athele Wink

12 715
 02-21-2014, 11:57 AM
  • tdmsu
  • Banned
  • Metro Detroit
User Info
Hey Bryan,

I think you have pretty good results so far with only an iPhone.

I recommend a Pentax DSLR or a Pentax K-01, because they are able to use any lens ever made for the mount, and many others.

http://www.pentaxforums.com/reviews/pent...ction.html