05-02-2012, 12:53 PM
  • Songwind
  • Soap Slinger & Scuttle Pusher
  • Burnsville, MN
User Info
How long do you load from soaps and hard creams?

I'm still a relative noob (4+ months so far), though I have done my homework pretty exhaustively. One thing that has always struck me is the wide variation in suggested load times for soap use.

Many tutorials and conversations mention 30-60 seconds. And I can surely get plenty of lather when I load that much. A bit more for hard soaps, a bet less for soft.

On the far end of the spectrum, I've seen some people mention up to 2 minutes loading time. (I want to say it was cvac one of the times, but I'm not certain.)

On the opposite end, in one of the mantic59 videos he suggests loading for 3-5 seconds!

I don't want to waste soap. It's not the expense, I just want to prolong my enjoyment of my favorite products as much as possible. On the other hand, I don't want to miss out by under-loading and getting an inferior lather.

Today, thinking about all this, I tried loading my RazoRock Caprician Lemon for 10 seconds with my Semogue 1305. It made a great lather, and STILL more than I needed. I didn't notice any degradation of performance since the last time I used it, either.

So, gents (and ladies, if applicable), how do you load your brush? What convinced you to settle on that length of time?

10 1,858
 05-02-2012, 12:58 PM
  • Teiste
  • Moderator Emeritus
  • Salt Lake City,UT
User Info
I load the brush for,at least, 40 seconds,if the soap its triple milled and 30 seconds in case of a soft soap/hard cream.If I use a stick,I rubbed it really well over my beard and later load the brush again with the soap.I don't like to reload the brush so Ill rather get more soap/cream than being short of product.

86 7,123
 05-02-2012, 01:05 PM
User Info