03-11-2014, 07:22 AM
User Info
Background

The 5 piece ATT M1/R1/H1 set is the newest addition to my modest collection. I am not good at reviews and have never kept a journal, so this thread may be worthless in the end. My intent is to post observations about using the ATT set. Whether it stays or goes remains to be seen.

For reference, following are razors I have, have owned or used:
EJ Jagger DE89Bl with Weber Classic handle
Gillette Aristocrat
Mergress XL
Gillette Old Type
Merkur 23C
Weber Polished Head
Gillette New Type Long Comb
I have no idea how other razors shave and may not correctly remember the ones I have. Take what I remember with a grain of salt.

If it matters to you, typical pre shave is good face wash with glycerine soap. I use any number of soaps. Thayers Witch Hazel for post shave and an after shave balm. Normal shave for me is 3 passes, WTG, XTG, ATG.

I will denote blades and which head I'm using. Two weeks ago I used the DE89 and last week the Weber PH. My blade bias is Gillette Silver Blue and Polsilver Super Iridium, but neither or both may work well for me with the ATT heads.

Shave #1 - R1

Rare for me but I started the day with a two day growth. The Kronos handle came with the R1 head attached, so that is what I shaved with this morning with one of the supplied Astras. Based on my correspondence with Stan I expected this to be much more aggressive than the DE89/Weber, and was dubious as Astras have not worked well for me in the past. Preshave expectation is FAIL.

Hmmm. I really did not find the R1 head more aggressive than the Weber/DE89. I would say the shave was more similar than different. It seemed more efficient, and this was especially noticeable after the second pass as the shave was closer than is typical. Still required my third pass but much less blade buffing. The Astra worked well enough with some noticeable tugging, but not as much I recall with other razors.