04-15-2014, 07:13 AM
User Info
First off I want to apologize for the length of this post. I've been wet shaving with DE's for several years now and want to give straights a try. I've been reading through the threads on this forum and I'm thinking I should start with a 5/8 round possibly a Dovo,shave ready. I was particularly intrigued with a thread by Wingdo (featuring Obie) about a 7 day straight shave practice period. I'm still around five months away from purchasing but need alot of help. Ive looked at SRD and Whipped Dog but alot of items/sets are out of stock. Also,how often should a straight be honed? Whats type of strop should I get 2",3",or the boared type? Any comments and suggestions are desired.Undecided

6 589
 04-15-2014, 04:06 PM
User Info
Not even one suggestion? Help me out here guys, I know very little about straight razor's at this point.

6 589
 04-15-2014, 10:27 PM
  • evnpar
  • Emeritus
  • Portland, Oregon
User Info
Hello Captain,

I'm a relative beginner myself. I hope it's OK to suggest the following link to a booklet that I found helpful, and will answer many of your questions.

http://www.shavemyface.com/downloads/The...-Shave.pdf

38 5,031
 04-16-2014, 02:41 AM
  • Obie
  • Glendale, Wisconsin
User Info
Captain Caveman,

Welcome to the world of straight razor shaving — at least you're thinking about it. Here are some general thoughts.4/

1. Do as much reading on the subject as possible.
2. Watch as many videos as you can. Most straight razor shaving videos on You Tube are dreadful. The good ones, however, stand out. I'll gladly send you some links.
3. Get a 4/8, a 5/8 or 6/8 size blade, preferably round point. Anything bigger will be difficult to maneuver at first.
4. Make sure the razor is shave ready.