05-09-2012, 04:46 PM
  • vferdman
  • Artisan
  • Western Massachusetts
User Info
I've been shaving for over 30 years, but never used alum until I started wet shaving with a DE and read about it on forums. I've used alum deodorant before and really liked it in that capacity. Never realized how amazing an aftershave product it is. I started using it regularly and my shaves have improved due to it. The reason I can be sure alum is the reason is I stopped using it since I started getting amazing shaves with no need for A/S at all. Just a fantastic comfortable close shave. So I stopped using alum at the end of a shave. A week later I am fighting a battle with nicks and irritation again. Now I am back to using alum at the end. I don't use aftershave, don't like it. I tried witch hazel and that is good for me, but alum is better. After a few days of using alum my skin seems to become more shaveable (is that a word?). It tightens up and I cut myself almost none. I usually apply alum after I rinse off the last of the soap and let it stay on my face while I clean up the equipment. I usually take the blade out of the razor and rinse it, rinse and dry the razor and put it away, then I squeeze the last of the lather from the brush and use it to wash the alum off. It's amazing to watch the lather turn into nothing on contact with alum. I do not use shaving alum either. I use a deodorant stick I bought at Whole Foods that contains aloe. It works great. Has anyone else found that stopping alum use will lead to worse shaves after a while?

25 1,705
 05-09-2012, 09:04 PM
User Info
I mainly use witch hazel, but sometimes use alum, rinse with cold water and then apply the witch hazel. It definitely tightens the skin more than anything else. I'll try using it each time for a while and let you know my results.

21 1,473
 05-10-2012, 04:44 AM
  • Howler
  • A calamophile and vintage razor lover
  • Fort Smith AR
User Info