04-21-2014, 01:25 PM
  • Nero
  • Ban Groupthink from Earth
  • le montagne
User Info
Hey Guys,
I am looking for a 3rd brush to fill a gap in the quiver.
So, I have done just a little bit of looking around, and I think I'm ready to pull the trigger on a Thater 4125/3 I 28MM Two-Band Finest Silvertip in Fan shape.

Am I looking at the right brush if I want a good SOAP brush that is soft as a cloud on the face, but has some decent backbone?

I am a bit of an amateur when it comes to "brush knowledge".
Thanks for your guidance!

59 2,826
 04-21-2014, 01:31 PM
  • German
  • Simpson 2 Band Aficionado
  • USA
User Info
That is a great brush, but if you are after softness and great backbone I would vote for Thäter 2 Band instead. Also a fan will splay quite a bit in that size. You may want to consider a bulb or downsize the fan to 26mm.
Of course YMMV.
(04-21-2014, 01:25 PM)Nero Wrote: Hey Guys,
I am looking for a 3rd brush to fill a gap in the quiver.
So, I have done just a little bit of looking around, and I think I'm ready to pull the trigger on a Thater 4125/3 I 28MM Two-Band Finest Silvertip in Fan shape.

Am I looking at the right brush if I want a good SOAP brush that is soft as a cloud on the face, but has some decent backbone?

I am a bit of an amateur when it comes to "brush knowledge".
Thanks for your guidance!

37 1,863
 04-21-2014, 01:49 PM
User Info
I would opt for a bulb. I had the same brush you are considering and sold it precisely because I didn't care for the splay of the fan. Finding the right balance between softness and backbone is a subjective matter. I replaced the Thater with a 28mm Shavemac D02 2-band bulb. The Thater is softer, but the Shavemac has more density and backbone.

50 6,107
 04-21-2014, 04:24 PM
  • Nero
  • le montagne
User Info