04-21-2014, 03:36 PM
User Info
I understand the results of razor & blade combinations are unique for everyone. Still, I wonder if there’s a blade you can recommend or that I should wait, for a first-time OC razor.

I’m a newbie at DE shaving and will be trying my new Muhle R41 razor tomorrow morning with a 4-day old beard. Without any recommendations here, I’ll start with a Feather New Hi-Stainless Steel blade.

I started with a Lord L6 razor with a Lord platinum blade (included with razor) in early April. Those were close and comfortable shaves. Then changed to a Feather New Hi-Stainless steel blade which I considered a bit more aggressive (or maybe my confidence was more aggressive).

I have a thick beard with sensitive skin so I now have an extensive beard cleaning/softening process with a shower and cleaning first, wet the face with hot water, floss, apply Proraso Green pre-shave, brush teeth, then lather Proraso Green shaving cream (tube) with a brush onto my face for a couple of minutes. I do three passes, clean with warm water, rinse with cold water, get dressed, than splash Proraso Green aftershave.

Here are other blades from a sampler I received today:

- 7AM Plus Hi Platinum
- Astra Stainless
- Astra Superior Premium Platinum
- Crystal
- Derby Extra
- Dorco ST300
- Gillette 7-Oclock Sharp Edge
- Gillette Silver Blue
- Kai
- Lord Super Stainless Steel
- Pol Silver
- Red Pack Personna Platinum
- Shark Super Chrome
- Shark Super Stainless
- Treet Platinum Stainless

I appreciate any feedback.

0 21
 04-21-2014, 05:36 PM
  • Elendil
  • Raggedy man, good night
  • The snow's back.
User Info
Personally, I'd give a Red Pack Personna a try. The R41 is a pretty aggressive razor without a lot of room for error, and Red IPs are good, middle of the road blades with some forgiveness in them.

0 1,137
 04-21-2014, 05:50 PM
User Info
Astra SP. They work fantastic for me in every razor I've put them in.

2 806
 04-22-2014, 09:37 AM
User Info
Thanks for your advice guys.