04-24-2014, 06:38 AM
User Info
Folks I have zero experience with these and when I saw Bullgoose tweet about them I had to pull the trigger on one. I'm gonna try one of these as I've never tried horsehair: http://www.bullgooseshaving.com/vie-long...l-edition/

What are your general feelings on horsehair brushes? How do they compare to badger/boar?

19 881
 04-24-2014, 06:46 AM
  • Balj86
  • Maryland USA
User Info
They are pretty good if you like scrub. I think out of all brushes they make some of the best lathers. It will take time to break in and will have have some scritch in the beginning if you face lather. Good thing it won't hurt the bank, if you don't like it you can just BST.

10 963
 04-24-2014, 06:47 AM
User Info
I have the brown horse hair 13065. It's the brush I use the most. It's perfect, soft, scritchy, and works well with both soaps and creams. That and my money 49 are my favorites, over a couple of silver tips from Muhle and Hommage. You will like it.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

0 37
 04-24-2014, 06:48 AM
User Info
I feel they are somewhere between badger and boar with respect to softness/firmness. The White horsehair you selected contains a 50/50 mix of mane and tail hair which is considerably softer than the Brown 35/65 mix. Phil's description that the horse brushes, particularly the White, are similar to a best badger brush, soft with a bit of scritch, is generally accurate.

0 386
 04-24-2014, 08:09 AM
  • W.S.O.
  • Banned
  • Philadelphia, Pa
User Info
This may sound a bit lofty but I feel it is accurate. If you like Simpsons in Best I think you will like the vie long horse.
I started with a horse badger mix as I did not want to go with a full horsehair knot. I bought the Vie-Long 2013 Beehive Mixed knot. I absolutely loved it. So much so that I bought a second of the exact same brush! I like this brush so much it is in my top 3 of brushes.