05-01-2014, 10:33 PM
User Info
Finally bought an Alum block by Gent Jon on Amazon. Great price for the size of the block and the neat container it came in.

[Image: Slider1.jpg]

So....I've never used any Alum before so I got a question.

This morning I shaved as usual (ended up using a '24 SE razor, some Arko).

After the shave I rinsed my face in water and wetted the alum block and gently stroked it over my face.

After that I washed my face again but now there was significant 'friction' on my face. My hands didn't 'glide' over my face but rather had to move them over my face with some effort due to the 'grip' my face now had.

I could also tell there was some residue on my face.
Same feeling when I a few minutes later applied an aftershave.

Is this normal - and if so how do you deal with the 'residue/film' and the 'grip' your face now have?

0 338
 05-01-2014, 10:52 PM
User Info
Unless you have bleeding or a skin problem IMO the alum block is of little worth. It exists to prevent infection.

I can't help beyond that. I use an alum block on my underarms and in that it excels.

For a serious cut that's bleeding a styptic pencil type of alum is required, but that's different.

32 6,458
 05-02-2014, 04:35 AM
User Info
Residue is normal, after all some like to rub alum on their fingers to get a better grip on their razors when wet. I shave before I shower - so I rinse off the alum as I wash.

I use alum after every shave to get an instant feedback on the shave; no stinging means no nicks Wink

Like Brian I use alum as a deodorant - a different piece than goes on my face, but that's because it's a bigger hunk of crystal goodness.

3 4,481
 05-02-2014, 05:09 AM
  • BobH
  • Thunder Bay Canada
User Info
I use alum after every shave as a skin toner and for it's mild antiseptic qualities. I apply as you did and let dry a bit before rinsing it off. Then apply some AS. You may not have rinsed it off sufficiently if you are getting that "grippy" feeling.

Bob

0 1,694