05-16-2014, 07:48 PM
User Info
I found this for $10 at an antique store today, I was wondering if anyone could tell me roughy the year. It was labeled as 1950 but I'm unsure. This is my first attempt with an SE but for $10 why not.

[Image: cveNpfj.jpg]
[Image: sxeoTNI.jpg]
[Image: ULQSxug.jpg]
[Image: HKyeARx.jpg]

0 29
 05-16-2014, 07:58 PM
  • Lutebro
  • Olympia, WA
User Info
Wrong case and wrong blade bank but a nice razor. Looks like a 1914 model ever ready and those can be pretty tough to age at least for me. Be careful with this one. I've used quite a few SE's and this model bit me pretty good. Have to be very attentive.

58 1,312
 05-16-2014, 09:49 PM
User Info
It's a 1924 aka ''shovel head''. Some folks here like them. It is very finiky about the angle and switches from mild to aggressive quickly.
I got decent shaves with it, but didn't care for it.

6 860
 05-18-2014, 10:00 PM
User Info
One of my favorite SE razors. But I do understand that not everyone gets along with it.

32 6,470
 05-19-2014, 01:52 PM
  • matloffm
  • Culver City, CA
User Info
I can attest to how finicky it is. I got a great shave the first time I used it because I was being very cautious. But the next time I used it, I didn't pay attention and paid the price. It is like the OCMM in that way. Very fussy about angles.

19 566
 05-20-2014, 08:16 PM
User Info
So far I've managed to get two shaves in using this razor, had to pick up some rite-aid blades. Not really impressed so far. Seems aggressive without providing a close shave. I should probabley add that I have been shaving while on a boat in 4-6 foot seas. No nicks com cuts of any kind. Just can't seem to get a close shave. I will continue to give it a try for at least a month and see how it goes.
Any tips would help. It may just be my angle.

0 29
 05-20-2014, 09:35 PM
User Info
What you describe is definitely not typical for that razor.