05-19-2014, 12:07 PM
  • v4257
  • Always chasing the perfect shave
  • Boston, USA
User Info
First I must apologize for my abrupt style, typos and bad pictures as this is all being done via cellphone.
-----

This is my first time in Italy. Moreover it's my first vacation after becoming interested in our little hobby - so now I see the wetshaving in everything :-). I thought I'd share with fellow nookers.

Wetshaving supplies are everywhere. Every supermarket I've visited stocks shaving cream, soap, brush, pre-post etc. Proraso dominates but I also saw Figaro, Prep & Palmolive. All the std Supermarket assortment viz foam, AS from Gillette, Nivea etc is also carried.

Soaps and creams were all 1-1.5 EUR. Proraso brush was 4 EUR (if you haven't seen it - it's very similar to the Omega 48).

I bought a Prep cream to try for 2 Eur. Here it is - hanging out with my travel kit:

[Image: a3asypad.jpg]

(Prelim verdict on Prep is that I don't love it as pre or post. It performs very sim to Proraso pre-post for me. In my book - both are ok, not great)

More notes to follow...

17 535
 05-19-2014, 12:48 PM
  • Agravic
  • Super Moderator
  • Pennsylvania, USA
User Info
Enjoy your vacation, V. ... and thanks for sharing your shaving experiences there ... Smile

It's hard to imagine having such availability of wet-shaving software so readily available at stores everywhere ...

... let me know if you come across any straights with the name 'Livi' ... Biggrin

102 18,552
 05-19-2014, 01:34 PM
  • v4257
  • Boston, USA
User Info
Lol - will do Ravi! Something I forgot to mention was - while soaps, brushes and creams abound - there is nary a DE razor or blade to be seen. The razor segment is owned by carts - it's all Gillette Fusion etc as per usual.

17 535
 05-20-2014, 07:30 AM
  • v4257
  • Boston, USA
User Info
Tuscany is very beautiful. Olive trees as far as the eye can see. [Image: u9agu5yp.jpg]