05-20-2014, 08:38 AM
User Info
I won Simpsons Luxury Shaving Cream in a contest Mark was having on this forum. All he asked in a return is review. I am a man of my word, so here goes.

I am not a cream user. I have tried various creams over time, but most of the products in my collection are croaps. The only hard soap I use is Tabac. So this is exciting for me, because it’s something new.

Simpsons is a true luxury brand and this cream is no exception. When I first opened the package I was surprised at the quality of the packaging. It comes in a nice aluminum screw top tin. I give the packaging 5 stars.

Of course the first thing I did from here is to open the cream and smell it. The scent I received is Citrus Burst, and the scent matches the description. I am not a fragrance expert, but I smell lemon and grapefruit with a floral element. I’m not sure what that floral element is, but it’s definitely in there. This scent is truly a spring scent. The scent reminds me of a sunny 70 degree day, sitting on your front porch in the shade, enjoying the cool breeze, and drinking a glass of lemonade. After the shave I still would catch occasional glimpses of the scent, so there is some lingering, but not enough to interfere with a fragrance. I give the scent 5 stars.

The consistency of the cream is thicker than most of your standard creams, but it is not as thick as Castle Forbes. With this product a little bit goes a long way. On my first trial I definitely used too much. This jar of cream is not huge, about standard size, so I think it will last a while based on the fact that a little goes a long way. With that being said, I would rather use too much product than not enough, to ensure a great shave. I’m not sure how long this would last me, but Mark estimates two months or more of daily use.